English National Curriculum – Ajyal MBZ
Make an Enquiry
Student Application
English National Curriculum

English National Curriculum

AJYAL International School has chosen the English National Curriculum (ENC) for all year groups.

The decision was made for a number of compelling reasons:

From the start the curriculum sets standards to ensure that children begin learning and will develop while being kept healthy and safe. It promotes learning to ensure children’s ‘school readiness’ and gives children the broad range of knowledge and skills that provide the right foundation for good future progress through school and life.

The English National Curriculum (ENC) is then organised on the basis of five Key Stages. The English system uses Years rather than Grades which are indicated in the brackets. Years will be used internally as all the supporting text books and documentation use this terminology.

In Key Stages 1, 2 and 3 students will study: Arabic, Art and Design, Design and Technology, English, French, Geography, History, Social Studies, Information and Communication Technology, Islamic Studies, Mathematics, Music, Physical Education, Science and aspects of Personal, Social and Health Education as pertaining to the cultures and traditions of the UAE.

At Key Stage 4 students study a mix of compulsory subjects and, if they choose, a course of study in a subject within each of four ‘entitlement’ areas.

ENC Curriculum and the Significant Learning Model:

The six areas of the significant learning outcomes are embedded in our curriculum. For each subject and key stage, programs of study are designed to provide a unique, rich and diverse school curriculum offering a balance of varied, active learning and assessment experiences. Students will use their knowledge in a variety of authentic and simulated contexts to ensure their learning has real meaning.  Students will be assessed not just against the ENC attainment levels, but also against other learning outcomes, i.e., learning about themselves and relating to others, learning to value their learning, and learning how to learn.